Chapter VII: Until Death Do We Part

Macie blew out her candles on her cake with a bright smile while I grinned and snapped pictures from behind her. Even at forty, she still looked beautiful. I wish I had looked as good when I turned forty.

“There. Now I’m just as big of a geezer as you are,” she teased when she turned around.

“Impossible. I see not a single wrinkle on your face.”

“Oh please!” she laughed as I pulled her into a loving embrace.

“Happy birthday, honey.”

“Thank you. Soon, we’ll be celebrating another birthday,” she smiled, rubbing her still-flat belly. After I’d become CEO of the corporation I worked for, we decided that it was finally time to start a family. Things were good for both of us; we had more than enough money to support both a child and the fertility treatments Macie needed in order to get pregnant at her age, and we were happy together. We always had been and now here we were, about to become parents. It was both exciting and terrifying at the same time. I knew Macie would be a wonderful mother, but would I be a good father? I had no idea, but I was going to find out soon enough.

“I still can’t believe we’re going to be parents,” I murmured, looking down at her belly. You couldn’t tell she was pregnant yet.

“I know, it’s so… uh oh…. oohhh…” Macie groaned, suddenly clutching her stomach with one hand and covering her mouth with the other. Uh oh. I knew what that meant.

“Morning sickness? Again?”

She nodded and bolted for the toilet and the house was filled with the sounds of her expelling everything she’d eaten that day… again. She’d been throwing up all day. And the day before that. And the day before that… It was starting to really worry me. Was it normal to be throwing up nearly twenty-four seven?

“Aww, it’s okay, Vixen. I’m just fine, don’t you worry about me, sweetie,” Macie assured the dog when she returned. Vixen ran to the bathroom door when Macie started throwing up, whining and pawing nervously at the door. She did that every time Macie threw up and every time, Macie would assure the dog she was fine and comfort her with a hug or a kiss or a belly rub. I wasn’t so sure she really was as fine as she insisted she was and resolved to bring it up at her next doctor’s appointment, but for right now, it was her birthday and we were going to celebrate it. “Where are you going?” she asked me as I ducked into our room to get the bouquet of flowers I had hidden in there.

“You’ll see,” I told her.

“And what’s that you’re hiding behind your back?” she asked with an amused smile when I reappeared, one hand on her hip.

“Your birthday present,” I said, pulling out the flowers. “You said you didn’t want anything, but I couldn’t not at least get you flowers.”

“Oh, it’s just like our first date!” she gushed, taking a long sniff of the purple blooms. “You’re so sweet, you know that?”

“Well, I try,” I smiled.

We were at a point in our lives where everything was going perfectly and we couldn’t have been happier with our marriage, our careers and our baby. I never could have imagined that it would ever come to an end.

I should have known better

8 thoughts on “Chapter VII: Until Death Do We Part

  1. Oh my gosh!!! Saddest chapter ever!! I totally didn’t see that coming! I mean, I did as soon as I started reading this chapter, since all signs pointed to it, not to mention the ominous chapter title, but before that I never even would have guessed!

    How awful 😦

    I’m really happy that Alton made up with his parents and has three beautiful babies….but still! Wahhhh 😦 Alton really is strong to get through this- I can’t even imagine what he must feel like.

    😦

  2. Oh my goodness! I can’t believe Macie is gone! She was so lovely. *sniffle* At least Alton won’t have to raise the triplets all on his own. It’s good to see him let his parents back into his life. He’s going to need them.

    A very tragic yet awesome chapter. I’m so glad to see you back. πŸ™‚ I can’t wait to read more about the triplets.

  3. Wow! This is an amazing chapter! Waaah! I will miss Macie, and I’m glad Alton finally figured things out. Like his parents, I wish it hadn’t taken such a tragedy to do it. Yes, he did see that waiting for money had been a foolish risk to take. I wonder how that will play out in the lives of his children. Will he coddle and spoil them, or be overprotective and strict? Will they look back and decide to have children early, or not at all? It’s certainly going to affect them, one way or another (or three different ways! One for each!).

    You are a really good writer. Thanks so much for this blog.

  4. how did you get those crazy hospital shots? custom locations I get but those poses! It says custom poses but what kind of mod is that? crazy!
    good chapter. well, bad events but well written.

    • The poses are the death pose pack and the labour pose pack from MTS. (: I built the hospital myself but the custom hospital items I used are also on MTS, but I can’t remember the exact name of the item set at the moment. If you search ‘hospital’ on MTS’ TS3 downloads page, it should pop up.

      I’m glad you liked the chapter!

  5. Didn’t see that coming at all, I cannot believe Macie died! Loved her and what she did for Alton so much 😦 Hate unexpected tragedy! I’m so pleased that he’s finally reunited with his family, but I hate that it’s at the expense of his wife. Gah πŸ˜₯

  6. Omg the date! My first nephew was born on May 20th, 2012!! I did not read this legacy when it was first written, but I’m going through and re-reading some of my favorites now and I couldn’t help but squeal when I saw that. Alas, he was born at 5:12pm, but still neato. And thank the sea gods there was only one of him lol. Fast-forward to present day, he’s bouncing off the walls and I’m not sure my sister could have handled three of him at once!! Anyway kind of a random/unrelated comment but it just made my day to see that. Love the legacy, glad you are continuing to write πŸ™‚
    -Mick

  7. Hi Ash, it’s Steph/RavenAngel888 from Twitter. i finally got around to properly reading this and it’s amazing… You literally had me bawling my eyes out with this chapter. I knew from the moment I read the title what was going to happen and even so i wasn’t prepared for it. Whenever I hear that song from now on I will be thinking of Macie (and probably shedding a tear or three)

    RIP Macie Sw0rd! You will be missed dearly and loved eternally

Leave a Reply

