Chapter V: The Woe of Wade

“WAAAAAAADE!” I screamed at the top of my lungs when I got out of the shower and saw myself in the mirror. Oooo, he was really going to get it this time!

“What? What’s wrong?! What’s going o—oh…” Cycl0n3 shouted, running into the room and stopping in his tracks when he saw me.

Yellow! My hair was yellow! Bright yellow!

“Aw Mom! It was only a joke! The yellow washed out! Relax,” Wade tried to argue with me when I threw on my robe and ran downstairs to scold him after spending a good fourty minutes trying to scrub my hair back to its natural blue.

“That’s not the point, Wade! I swear, I don’t know what to do with you! No punishment ever seems to teach you a lesson! I’m at my wit’s end!” I really, truly was. The house had become a war zone since Wade started school. No one in the house could use anything without worrying about getting a prank pulled on them. Of course, Wade always insisted he was just having a bit of fun, but there is a point where playfulness turns into disrespect and he’s crossed that point!

“Dad! Come on! Tell her she’s overreacting!” Wade tried to plead to Cycl0n3, who only gave him the same unimpressed look I was giving him and crossed his arms.

“Go upstairs and tell your brother we’re ready to bring out the cake. Then go to your room after dinner and stay there for the rest of the night.” I breathed a sigh of relief. At least one person seemed to be on my side in this house. The girls were too young to take sides and Alton usually tried to just stay out of the way and be unnoticed. He’s so shy. A lot of the time, I feel like it’s a constant battle between Wade and me and I’m fighting it by myself.

“This is so unfair!” Wade whined, stomping up the staircase to go fetch Alton and bring him downstairs. I sighed and slumped my shoulders.

“I don’t know what to do with him. I really don’t,” I muttered. Cycl0n3 put a hand to his forehead.

“He needs to learn some respect and manners, that’s for sure,” he sighed, going quiet for a moment. “You know, there’s something I’ve been wanting to talk to you about, but it can wait until after everyone’s blown out their candles.”

As if on cue, Alton and Wade both came running back down the stairs. “Why don’t I get a birthday party?” Wade demanded jealously.

“Because it’s not your birthday,” Alton answered him, rolling his eyes. Since Cycl0n3’s, Alton’s and my birthdays were all so close together, we decided to just celebrate them all at once.

“Okay, Alton. You first,” I told him, trying to force myself to act happy even though I was still furious with Wade. I could hardly believe my little boy was going to be a teenager! Had I really been living on land with humans for thirteen years? In some ways, I felt like I had learned so much, but in other ways, I felt like this was all still so new to me, but I wouldn’t take any of those thirteen years back. It had all led to this and despite my constant headaches with Wade, I loved my home and my family. I loved Cycl0n3, too, though I’ve never said so to him. I think I’m afraid that it isn’t “proper” by human standards. We’re not married and… we live like we’re together romantically, but we’ve never officially declared it. It’s a very complicated matter and I’m afraid of trying to clarify it because we’re happy right now and I don’t want that to change.

Alton stepped up to his cake while we all sang “Happy Birthday” to him and he blew out his candles with a big grin on his face. Then my little boy was gone and a nearly-grown man stood in his place. It suddenly hit me how much I was going to miss seeing him strut about the house in his prince costume, playing pretend and sneaking out to sleep in the tree house when he thinks I’m not looking.

Alton walked over to me and gave me a hug. He was almost as tall as I was! “Don’t cry, Mom. I’m still Alton. Just bigger,” he assured me, still grinning. I smiled through my tears and nodded. He was right. I was being silly. In the ocean, I probably wouldn’t have been so sentimental, but humans make such strong, lasting memories with their children on the surface that nymphs don’t get to have. I’ve become much more humanised over the years.

Cycl0n3 gave me a little nudge towards my cake and I followed Alton’s example. I was thirty, already?! Where did the time go?! Great Sea Gods, I could feel the wrinkles on my face. Cycl0n3 soon turned middle-aged as well. I thought I had taken getting older badly, but Cycl0n3 seemed to have lost his mind…

20 thoughts on “Chapter V: The Woe of Wade

  1. Aww, it’s a shame we’re not seeing Alton and Wade grow up, but hopefully boarding school will prove good for Wade! Little terror, although I love that hairdye gag! That first picture was hilarious 😀 And it’s great seeing more of Turquoise and Aqua.

    I hope that Azure gets on okay in her new job!

  2. As an alternative to uploading the sims to the exchange, you could always save them and take the .sim file, possibly put it in a zipped file and upload it to Rapidshare or Megaupload or something.

    Sad to see Alton and Wade go, won’t get to see their characters develop but I’m sure the school will affect it.

  3. Hello! I was an avid reader of the Charm legacy and it was that story that really got me into legacies and reading about them, and perhaps even trying to write one myself 😛 I was completely gutted when you said you wouldn’t be able to update their story any more, but I’m so glad you’re back!
    It’s such an interesting concept, a nymph trying to integrate herself into human life, and it’s completely different to anything I’ve seen before. Azure’s such a good character and she’s so pretty. I’m waiting impatiently for the next update!
    /end fangirl squealing

  4. There are live in nannies… sort of. If you have the Late night expansion pack, you can hire a butler, and they live with you, clean your house (so you don’t need to hire a maid), they make food for you, and they even take care of the children in the household, you only have to assign a bed for them. It costs 1250 weekly though.

    • Aw thanks Sian! That’s sweet. I’m hoping to get some playing done tonight. I got a bit distracted with other game files I started, heh heh. A new chapter tomorrow, perhaps? o: -fingers crossed-

      • Ooo, I hope so! 🙂 I know what you mean about distractions, tis why I’m taking regular breaks this time. Trying not to have random five month hiatuses! Back from one today, just posted a new chapter if you have a couple of spare minutes to read, haha!

        Reading anything good in school?

    • Oooh! I’ll have to check it out! I love your legacy!

      And yes, I am! 8D Moby Dick is a great book! I’m not so fond of The Last of the Mohikans, though. :/ I might just SparkNote that one. It’s physically painful to try and get through, I swear.

      I have all the screenshots for the next chapter. My Sims decided to throw an unplanned surprise at me, of course. I freaked when I got an error when trying to save, but I just tried to save again as a different file and that seems to have worked. Hopefully, I won’t run into any nasty problems the next time I try to play. The Charms died because of that. :c

      • Ah, I’d just sparknote it. I had to read a book called Mary Barton (Elizabeth Gaskell) and it was AWFUL. So depressing. Probably quite true to life in Victorian England, but so depressing!

        If your game starts to get quite errory upon saving, I’d suggest saving your family and any characters you need onto the clipboard then starting afresh (only in game terms, obviously!) in a clean version of Sunset Valley. Also, do you have a mod to suppress/disable memories? If you don’t, I’d recommend getting one – while I love the idea of the memory system, it bloats the size of the save file to ridiculous levels really quickly and causes all sorts of problems. You probably already know all that, but just in case! 🙂

        I’m excited for the new chapter 😀 Eeee!!

    • I miss a lot of the Generations content in Sims 4 but Sims 4 also has a lot of stuff for kids and teens to do in the base game that didn’t come with Sims 3’s base game and some things are completely new to 4, like kids cuddling with their parents on the couch and teens being able to “mess around” and give each other promise rings. I love all of that a lot. I’m glad you liked the chapter! 🙂

Leave a Reply

